Monday, May 31, 2010

May 29, 2010
Leongatha 10-8 (68)
Maffra 13-14 (92)
Recreation ReserveLeongatha, VictoriaAustralia

Maffra defeated Leongatha by six goals to take the outright top spot on the Gippsland Football League ladder, ahead of their round eight top of the table Gippsland Football League clash against Traralgon. Traralgon had a bye in round seven.

Playing at the Leongatha Recreation Reserve, the hosts and last year’s semi-finalists never led Maffra, the 2009 premiers. Maffra led by seven points at the end of the first quarter, three points at half time, and nine points at the end of the third quarter.

Goals to Kal Killoran, who’s back from interleague, David Adams, Heyden Burgiel, Nicholas Horsford, Samual Bullen, Sam Bedggood, Joshua Stubbe, Daniel Stubbe (2) and Gary Jones (4) sealed the win for Maffra.

Hayden Browne, Clinton Johnston, Matthew Willcocks (2), Tom Marriott (2), Sam Sperling (2) and Dwayne Holt (2) were the goal kickers for Leongatha.

The Gippsland Football League is an Australian rules football league covering the Gippsland region of the Australian state of Victoria. It is officially known as the Gippsland League.